The three time National Champion Jeff Orosz celebrates with runner up Warren Diem, and third place finisher Chad Rall after the AMA/USA Speedway Long Track National Championship in Canton, Ohio.

Orosz “three-peats” the
AMA/USA Speedway Long Track National Championship
By Scotty Brown
Canton, OH May 23, 2009
Jeff Orosz came out on top at the AMA/USA Speedway Long Track National Championship, Saturday May 23, 2009 at the Stark County Fairgrounds in Canton, Ohio for the third year in a row.
The Long Track National was organized by Scotty Brown and the Bike Days Motorcycle Club and is sponsored by Freedom Harley Davidson, Miller Lite Racing, Applied Innovations, Barnett Clutch, Dixie International, K-K Motorcycle Supply, Moose Racing, NJK Leathers, Oury Grip, PJ’s Fabricating and Wiseco Piston. The championship ran in conjunction with the AMA Flat Track Motorcycle Races and Swap Meet at the BIKE DAYS 7th annual meet.
It was a warm and sunny 83 degree Memorial Weekend, with perfect conditions on the half mile limestone cushion track. Eighteen of North Americas’ finest Long Track Riders assembled in Canton traveling from Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Canada competed for the National Championship. Brian Fowler of the Brian and Joe morning radio show and Bob Sigler were the announcers on hand to call the action.
This was not an easy victory for Orosz due to the motor trouble he experienced in the second round of heats which sent him to the Last Chance Qualifiers (LCQ). Pennsylvania rider Warren Diem and Chad Rall (son of Hall of Fame Rider Ronnie Rall) were tied with 28 points after the three rounds of heats. The heat race points were tabulated, transferring the top six riders into two Semi Finals, leaving six positions open for the top three finishers from each the Last Chance Qualifiers.
The National Long Track format consisted of three rounds of point gathering Heats, two Last Chance Qualifiers, two Semi Finals and an “A, B and C” Main.
Top three finishers of the heats were…
Round 1
Heat 1 – 1st) #52x Chad Rall     2nd) #5 Rob Dixon     3rd) #53 Doug Horner
Heat 2 – 1st) #31 Jeff Orosz      2nd) #11 Glen Brown  3rd) #30 Dan Weicht
Heat 3 – 1st) #4 Warren Diem 2nd) #18 Chris Thomas   3rd) #52 Ronny Rall
Round 2
Heat 4 – 1st) #77 Jon Massie 2nd) #9 Marc Monroe    3rd) #110 Mike Hammond
Heat 5 – 1st) #30 Dan Weicht 2nd) #26 Dave Weicht   3rd) #45 Tim Murray
Heat 6 – 1st) #52x Chad Rall 2nd) #4 Warren Diem    3rd) #11 Glen Brown
Round 3
Heat 7 – 1st) #31 Jeff Orosz        2nd) #53 Doug Horner   3rd) #52 Ronny Rall
Heat 8 – 1st) #18 Chris Thomas  2nd) #5 Rob Dixon         3rd) #82 Chris Hathaway
Heat 9 – 1st) #4 Warren Diem     2nd) #52x Chad Rall      3rd) #11 Glen Brown
Jeff Orosz won the first LCQ with Jon Massie winning the second LCQ.  “AMA Hall of Fame rider” Ronny Rall also made the cut by finishing third in the second LCQ.
1st) #31 Jeff Orosz         2nd) #53 Doug Horner       3rd) #45 Tim Murray
1st) #77 Jon Massie        2nd) #26 Dave Weicht       3rd) #52 Ronny Rall
In the first Semi Final, Jeff Orosz won followed by Chad Rall and Chris Thomas, transferring them directly to the A Main.
In the second Semi Final, Warren Diem won with Rob Dixon second and Glenn Brown third, also transferring them directly to the A Main.
The remaining six riders from the Semi Finals (4th through 6th), transferred to the B Main.
Semi Final  1
1st) #31 Jeff Orosz           2nd) #52x Chad Rall           3rd) #18 Chris Thomas
Semi Final  2
1st) #4 Warren Diem        2nd) #5 Rob Dixon             3rd) #11 Glen Brown
In the A final – Jeff Orosz took the early advantage with a great start. Warren Diem trailed in second and Chad Rall third. Diem made a great charge midway but it was too late, Orosz was the first to cross the finish line and win the Championship for the third time.
Mark your calendar for the California Speedway Long Track Championship held in Perris, California on July 11, 2009.
The Ohio Speedway Long Track Championship will be held in Wauseon, Ohio on Friday, July 17, 2009 combined with a great night of Antique Motorcycle racing at the 27th annual AMCA National meet at the Fulton County Fairgrounds in Wauseon, Ohio.
Visit for current information.
AMA/USA Speedway Long Track National Championship
Final Standings of May 23, 2009
1st       Jeff Orosz #31                     Caistorville, ON Canada
2nd       Warren Diem #4                Gap, PA
3rd       Chad Rall #52x                    Mansfield, OH
4th       Rob Dixon #5                       Bowmanville, ON Canada
5th       Chris Thomas #18              Mansfield, OH
6th       Glen Brown #11                 Utterson, ON Canada
7th       Dan Weicht #30                 North Webster, IN
8th       Tim Murray #45                 Niagara Falls, ON Canada
9th       Doug Horner #53               Gates Mills, OH
10th     Ronny Rall #52                    Engadine, MI
11th     Dave Weicht #26               Pierceton, IN
12th     Jon Massie #77                   Wooster, OH
13th     Mike Hammond #110      Cambridge, ON Canada
14th     Chris Hathaway #82          Syracuse, IN
15th     Mike Callen #33e               Galesburg, MI
16th     Rod Massie #69                  Wooster, OH
17th     Kevin Sexton #60F             Elyria, OH
18th     Heath Heston #4x             Lexington, OH


Chad Rall #52 gets the hole shot with Warren Diem #4 in close pursuit as the eventual winner Jeff Orosz #1 motor goes away in the second round of heats at the AMA/USA Speedway Long Track National Championship during Bike Days in Canton, Ohio over Memorial weekend.