AMA/USA Speedway Long Track National Champions 2008

1st - Jeff Orosz,  2nd - Chad Rall,  3rd - Rob Dixon

Photo courtesy of Moto Lenz Photos


AMA/USA Speedway Long Track National Championship to Orosz

Canton, OH May 24, 2008 By Scotty Brown

Jeff Orosz came out on top at the AMA/USA Speedway Long Track National Championship, Saturday May 24, 2008 at the Stark County Fairgrounds in Canton, Ohio.

The Long Track National was organized by Scotty Brown and the Bike Days Motorcycle Club and sponsored by Freedom Harley Davidson, Miller Lite Racing, Cycle Trader, Applied Innovations, Dixie International, Engraver’s Gallery, Kames Sports, K-K Motorcycle Supply, Moose Racing, PJ’s Fabricating and Wiseco Piston. The championship ran in conjunction with the AMA Flat Track Motorcycle Races and Swap Meet at the BIKE DAYS 6th annual meet.

It was Memorial Weekend – spring time in Northeastern Ohio, with no rain in the forecast. The half mile limestone cushion track was in perfect condition for the Championship. Brian Fowler of the Brian and Joe morning radio show and Bob Sigler were the announcers on hand to call the action.

North Americas’ finest Long Track Riders assembled in Canton for the Championship. Peter Pederson former Danish league rider now living in South Dakota traveled across the country with a new Jawa sporting experimental cams shipped in from Europe, these cams being one of only two sets in America. The other set of cams are being used by Drew Gatewood of in a world record speed attempt at Bonneville later this year. Riders also traveled in from Michigan, Indiana, and Canada.

The National long track format consisted of three rounds of point gathering heats, two last chance qualifiers, two semi finals and an “A, B and C” Main.

Top three finishers of the heats were…

Round 1
Heat 1 – 1st) #5 Rob Dixon 2nd) #30 Daniel Weicht 3rd) #37 Gary Hesmer
Heat 2 – 1st) #31 Jeff Orosz 2nd) #52j Chad Rall 3rd) #82x Steve Glasgow
Heat 3 – 1st) #4 Brian Daily 2nd) #52c Dan Crawford 3rd) #18 Chris Thomas

Round 2
Heat 4 – 1st) #82 Chris Hathaway 2nd) #33e Mike Callen 3rd) #45 Tim Murray
Heat 5 – 1st) #127 Peter Pederson 2nd) #18 Chris Thomas 3rd) #82x Steve Glasgow
Heat 6 – 1st) #31 Jeff Orosz 2nd) #5 Rob Dixon 3rd) #52j Chad Rall

Round 3
Heat 7 – 1st) #9 Marc Monroe 2nd) #52 Ronny Rall 3rd) #43 Phil Mosquera
Heat 8 – 1st) #82x Steve Glasgow 2nd) #30 Daniel Weicht 3rd) #26 Dave Weicht
Heat 9 – 1st) #31 Jeff Orosz 2nd) #5 Rob Dixon 3rd) #127 Peter Pederson

A horrific crash in heat six involving Brian Daily, Gary ”The Hit Man” Hesmer, and Dan Crawford retired these riders for the day.

The heat race points were tabulated transferring the top six riders into two Semi Finals leaving six positions open for the top three finishers from each the Last Chance Qualifiers.

Mike Callen won his Last Chance Qualifier with Doug Horner in second. Dave Weicht put in a good effort to maintain third for the final transfer spot to the Semi Finals.

In Semi Final #1 Jeff Orosz took the lead with Chris Thomas in second and Dan Weicht third. Oroszwon wire to wire with Thomas and Weicht second and third respectively.

In Semi Final #2 Rob Dixon took the lead with Chad Rall in second and Steve Glasgow third. Dixon won from start to finish with Rall second and Weicht wrapping up the final transfer position.

Chris Hathaway made the gate in the C Main and led the entire race with Jon Massie finishing second and Tim Murray from Niagara Falls third.

“AMA Hall of Fame rider” Ronny Rall came from behind and one by one used the outside line to pass Marc Monroe, Mike Callen, and then Dave Weicht to win the B Main in spectacular fashion.

In the A Main, Jeff Orosz made a great start and took the early advantage with Rob Dixon second and Chad Rall third. On lap 2 Rall made his move to take the second position, moving Dixon to third.
Mark your calendar for July 18th 2008 to see the Ohio Speedway Long Track Championship combined with a great night of Antique Motorcycle racing at the 26th annual AMCA National meet at the Fulton County Fairgrounds in Wauseon, Ohio.

Visit for current information.

AMA/USA Speedway Long Track National Championship
Stark County Fairgrounds, Canton Ohio
Presented by the Bike Days Motorcycle Club
Results of May 24, 2008



First - Jeff Orosz #31 Caistorville, ON Canada
Second - Chad Rall #52J Engadine, MI
Third - Rob Dixon #5 Bowmanville, ON Canada
Fourth - Chris Thomas #18 Mansfield, OH
Fifth - Daniel Weicht #30 North Webster, IN
Sixth - Steve Glasgow #82x Redford, MI


First - Ronny Rall #52 Engadine, MI
Second - Dave Weicht #26 Pierceton, IN
Third - Mike Callen #33e Galesburg, MI
Fourth - Marc Monroe #9 Tallmadge, OH
Fifth - Peter Pederson #127 Belle Fourche, SD
Sixth - Doug Horner #53 Gates Mills, OH


First - Chris Hathaway #82 Syracuse, IN
Second - Jon Massie #77 Wooster, OH
Third - Tim Murray #45 Niagara Falls, ON Canada
Fourth - Phil Mosquera Westland, MI
Fifth - Kevin Sexton #60F Elyria, OH
Sixth - Rob Mosquera #35 Garden City, MI


AMA/USA Speedway Long Track NATIONAL #1 Jeff Orosz

Photo courtesy of Moto Lenz Photos

Click on: Cycle News to view the on-line article of Bike Days 2008, Canton, Ohio